Wednesday, 24 March 2010

Introducing... Matthew Hiscock

Quick intro to a new producer by the name of Matthew Hiscock who recently sent us a couple of his new tracks, his latest EP, along the lines of the new Dub-Techno sound currently invading airwaves the world over.

Oh Those Sexy Sweatpants, named for the make-no-effort university students living near the studio it was recorded in, is a fun left-field tune that uses unorthodox rhythms and melodic techno stabs to support a beefy bassline that gets the girls moving.

Blimps, on the other hand is a head-down tribute to bass-heavy Maurizio/Basic Channel-style dub techno, all ebb and flow. I'd imagine it's quite a head-turner on a Funktion One... my bedroom is currently shaking with a mere 200w Sub.

Matthew Hiscock - Blimps (EP3)  by  matthewhiscock

Matthew Hiscock - Oh Those Sexy Sweatpants (EP3)  by  matthewhiscock

Something else I've also found in my google digging for Matt is his own blog which got off the ground just yesterday in fact, with the aim of giving aspiring Bass producers some tips on how to go about giving their tracks that edge and flare. It's in the very early stages at the moment, but there are already three top feature's from up and coming producers on the site... so please head over and check the blog out, which is titled... Make Some Bass.

Matt was also kind enough to send over his latest mix... lashings of funk from all corners of the globe. New cuts from DVA, Edu K, Egyptrixx, Ginz and Starkey. Get down with these bass biscuits.

Matthew Hiscock - The Main (dj mix, March '10)  by  matthewhiscock

Ginz and Kool Money Kwame - Oreo [Earwax]
Starkey feat. Anneka - Stars (Slugabed remix) [Planet Mu]
Dva - Natty [Hyperdub]
Octa Push - Dubshh [Iberian]
Matthew Hiscock - Blimps [self-released]
Headhunter - Sex At The Prom [Tempa]
Maurizio - M4 [M]
Autopilot - Soul Solstice [self-released]
Matthew Hiscock - Oh Those Sexy Sweatpants [self-released]
Egyptrixx - Drive U Crazy [Aaahh! Real Monsters]
Riot Kid - Darjeling (Edu K remix) [Dub Noir]
Desto - Broken Memory [Ramp]
José James - Blackmagic (Joy Orbison remix) [Brownswood]
Matthew Hiscock - I'm Going to Get You You Little Bastard [unreleased]

No comments:

Post a Comment